If you haven't had much riding experience, or if you've never ridden at all, this course is for you. Students learn how to operate a motorcycle, the best protective clothing to wear, how to avoid dangerous situations, and, most importantly, how to get out of those dangerous situations you can't avoid.
Students are required to take an online, 5-hour MSF ePackage 1 eCourse prior to the first day of the Basic RiderCourse. The MSF ePackage 1 eCourse fee is included in the class tuition.
Upon successful completion of the two-day course, students are issued an MSB-8 certificate which should satisfy the Texas Department of Public Safety's driving and written exams for those 18 and older. Students less than 18 years of age will still need to take the driving portion at the DMV.
The Texas Motorcycle Law requires the completion of a Basic Motorcycle Course to receive a new motorcycle license (M endorsement). More information on the law is available at theTexas DPS Motorcycle License and TDLR Motorcycle and ATV Operator Safety.