VC recognizes 13 graduates of Paramedic Certificate Program

Victoria College honored 13 Spring 2020 graduates of its Paramedic Certificate Program on Oct. 29.

Thirteen graduates of Victoria College’s Spring 2020 Paramedic Certificate Program were honored at a ceremony on Oct. 29 at VC’s Emerging Technology Complex.

Originally scheduled for May, the event was postponed to October due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cullen Oliver of Victoria was named class valedictorian and the recipient of the J. Alan Baker Award for Excellence. Devon Lyssy of Falls City was named class salutatorian. Oliver works for Jackson County EMS and Lyssy is employed with Victoria Fire/EMS.

Pamela Yanta of Victoria received the Best in Clinic Award, and Andrew Moon was the recipient of the Best in Skills Award. Both work for Victoria Fire/EMS.

Other graduates honored at the ceremony were Jason Corbell and Laura Herrera, both of Cuero; Elizabeth Alvarez of Port Lavaca; Ke’Von Brown of Victoria; Thomas Perez of Gillett; William Stolle of Falls City; Justin Tunchez of Rockport; Xavier Villarreal of Yoakum; and Wyatt Wasicek of George West.

“All 13 candidates for paramedic were working as Advanced EMTs in area EMS departments while completing the program,” said Victoria College EMS Program Director Susie Jechow. “They all have been caring for COVID-19 patients donning their personal protective equipment to keep themselves and their families safe. Working with the added stress is not what they signed up for, but they are proving their dedication with each wave of cases. The class to never graduate, as they call themselves, will always stand out as shining stars.”   

Victoria College’s Emergency Medical Services Program provides quality EMS education to meet the growing demand for competent EMTs and paramedics. For more information on Victoria College’s EMS Program, call (361) 573-3291.

Pictured on the front row from left are Ke’Von Brown, Elizabeth Alvarez, Pamela Yanta, EMS Program Director Susie Jechow, EMS Clinical Educator Dustin Ferguson, Laura Herrera and Andrew Moon. Pictured in the back row are Wyatt Wasicek, Devon Lyssy, Xavier Villarreal, William Stolle, EMS Program Medical Director Dr. John McNeill, Cullen Oliver, Jason Corbell, Justin Tunchez and Thomas Perez.